The New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are an American professional baseball team located in The Bronx of New York. The Yankees organization is considered one of the most elite franchises in the history of sports. They are in the Eastern Division of the American League and they have the distinction of being one of the most eloquent franchises in American sports over the course of their 100+ year history.



The Yankees have won 18 division titles, 40 AL pennants, and 27 World Series championships. 44 Yankees players and 11 Yankees managers have been inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame


The Rivalry

The cities of Boston and New York have shared a rivalry since before the American Revolution when they competed to be the city. The baseball rivalry officially began in the year 1919. In this year, the Boston Red Sox traded Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees for a large sum of money. This was widely seen as an axt of greed on the part of the Red Sox organization, so the curse of the Bambino was launched. After winning the World Series in 1918, the Red sox would be haunted for trading Ruth, and not win a championship in 86 years.



Click here for references